PSoC63-062-BLE kit version not working as advertised

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MaSo_1321201
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked First like given

Hello Cypress,

Jumping ahead: The profanities and curses were many when I discovered the cause.

I'm a long time user of the PSoC5LP family - great chips.  So I am no beginner to this or Creator.  Two days ago I bought a CY8CKIT-062-BLE HWv.B and I am in the process of building a prototype to a tight deadline that the PSOC63 will interface to analogue and digital, so I have adequate levels of pressure already with a new design, new circuitry, new PSoC architecture and firmware.  Hence the eval board so to reduce my mental workload - one less thing to concern myself with.  The out-of-the-box E-ink and BLE demo ran perfectly so I was assured the board was good.  I updated the kitprog version.

I am running all the latest software, Creator 4.4, PDL 3.1.4, wrote my code to generate a synchronised voltage and IO bitstream - compiled and programmed successfully and yet nothing.  Strange, so I spend the next day going over documentation and various code examples.  Thoroughly miserable I started re-watching Alan's PSoC6 101 videos in case I missed something, good videos - I still couldn't get the board to do anything.  I had updated all the components because they were out of date and caused compile problems using potted examples.  I can't even blink a F*c£!ng LED!.  The test equipment is out and I'm methodically going through everything - the very simple code should work and does on PSoC4 and PSoC5LP eval boards and boards that I have designed - am I going mad?  What am I doing wrong?

Two days I have wasted on this and the solution was to use an earlier version of PDL v3.0.1.  I then found articles on here that confirmed what I discovered: thanks to