PSoC 6 & 4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
StMa_3607891
Level 2
Level 2
5 replies posted 5 questions asked 5 sign-ins

Hi All,

I am relatively new to this technology so I started off using PSoC 6 and actually bought the PSoC Pioneer 6 kit thinking that since it is the latest it will have all the functionality of all the versions before it, say PSoC 4, plus some additions.

However recently I happened to want a few hardware building blocks like readable/writable counters (counter values) but could not find them.

To cut a long story short I ended up also buying the PSoC 4 Pioneer kit and to my surprise found a lot of handy hardware building blocks that were not available in my PSoC 6 environment including readable/writable counters! There is also a wealth of useful edge and pulse etc. functions under Digital/Utility.

My questions are:

• Where did I go wrong in my understanding of the conceptual positioning of PSoC 4 & 6?
  • Is it possible to promote a  PSoC 4 component to PSoC 6 so that one can work within PSoC 6 Pioneer Kit environment only?

Many thanks,

Stephen.

0 Likes
1 Solution
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Stephen,

It appears you are inquiring about the UDB (Universal Digital Blocks) functionality available on the PSoC4.

Many of the PSoC6s available also have UDBs and user designed logic functions can be allocated on these specific PSoC6s.

To determine which PSoC6 have UDBs, you can look up on the Device Selection chart based on the PSoC part number.

You referred to the PSoC Pioneer 6 kit.  I'm assuming you are referring to the CY8CKIT-062-BLE kit.  If this is correct, the PSoC6 on this kit has UDBs.

We should note in this discussion that ONLY the PSoC Creator IDE can allow the user to enter the "schematic" for the design to use UDBs and Components (which can be comprised of UDBs).