How to generate a 45 kHz signal with certain specifications.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
HappyPotamus
Level 1
Level 1
10 sign-ins 5 sign-ins First reply posted

Hello everyone,

I am new to PSoC and embedded systems in general. I am using a CY8CPROTO-063-BLE PSoC 6 PROTOTYPING KIT. I am trying to generate a signal of 45 kHz over 1 second, where it pulses for 10 ms of the entire second and the rest is a flat line. I have been attempting to replicate this small project for a long time, and I am really frustrated (Sorry I am a newbie and don't know nor understand much about PSoC). 

HappyPotamus_0-1631188547782.png

This is basically similar to an example provided by the company itself, but they did not include any code with it. I guess the idea here is to use a timer counter (OneSecTImer in the pic) to time the other timer counter (Counter in the pic) to work every second, whereas the PWM (FreqGen in the pic) is what generates a signal for the Counter to capture. I am not sure if I am supposed to use a UART or not, but I included it and have been using printf() function to print the desired outputs to PuTTY program. The clocks of the FreqGen and Counter are at 1 MHz, whereas the clock for the OneSecTimer is at 1 kHz (I am not sure if these values are acceptable).

HappyPotamus_1-1631188765502.png

This picture is the settings for the OneSecTimer (also I am not sure if I am choosing the correct period, but I am aware that the count starts from 0 hence why I used 999u).

HappyPotamus_1-1631193398402.png

These are the settings for the PWM FreqGen. I am sure I had done the period wrong, as I had assumed that the period is supposed to be related to the desired 45 kHz output. And I had read on some other post that the compare should be half of the period (In the code I used one of the PDL commands to rewrite the period and compare).

Counter settings.png