emFILE usage with internal FLASH

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of PSoC and would like to use the PSoC5 as a system monitor for a complex motherboard. It needs to monitor a lot of variables (such as voltage, current and temperature) and if something goes wrong, then store them somehow so it can be read back by a PC.

My idea is to create a file and store it on the internal flash on the PSoC whenever an error occurs, but the part I'm going to have trouble with is the file system and interfacing to the PC.

Do you think that it is possible to use the emFILE component to format a section of the internal flash / deal with the file I/O, and set up a USB component to mount this as mass storage? I'm sure this will involve an amount of bodging, but I'm not sure if it is even technically possible.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

0 Likes
8 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Break your project into three different parts:

1st Data monitoring
   The requresd sensors are read in, probably at quite different frequencies, since voltages may alter much faster than temperatures

2nd  data logging
    Comparing pre - defined tresholds this part will use the internal E2Prom for storing the events and an RTC.

3rd Communication with the PC
   This includes setting thresholds for the events, transmitting and clearing events, synchronizing RTC etc. IMHO the best would be to use an USBUART interface to accomplish this.

I do not have experiences with directly connecting an E2Prom to the emFile system but the E2Prom size is very limited and thus should be used as efficient as possible.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable
        Hi tiny   
It's a good idea to using emFile system and USB   
EmFile system can manage huge data and   
when connect to the PC Host, you can transfer these data.