PSoC Capable? Simultaneous 4 SPI Masters, 1 SPI Slave, and 4 Interrupts!!

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Everyone. Thanks for reading.

Please excuse any ignorance on my part. I am very new to PSoC and have yet to even program a board! I am well versed in Arduino-type micros and Raspberry Pi but have quickly reached the ceiling of the Arduino processing power and am hoping PSoC is the answer!

Quick overview of a project that I wanting to convert over to PSoC. 

RF Wireless telemetry system.

• Current Hardware
    • 4 Wireless nodes
      • Arduino Micro connected to nRF24L01+ sending 4 bytes of data
      • Torque measurements on rotating shaft.
    • 1 Base station
      • Raspberry Pi
        • Connected to nRF24L01+ via SPI
        • Connected to Arduino Mega via USB (Serial)
          • Mega has 4 Arduino Micros attached talking on I2C. These Micros are running interrupts for pulse counters to get RPM (1500RPM, 5-10 pulses per rev (I choose this) so 125Hz-250Hz maximum)
        • Also has GPS talking over USB (Serial)
        • Pi was the best way I knew how to log to files all the data I am collecting
  • Current System Capabilities
    • ~750Hz/channel RF data read sequentially (meaning Base Station RF reads channel 1, then channel 2 then …etc). 4 bytes per channel. 16 bytes total.
    • 400Hz/channel RPM data read sequentially(meaning Arduino Mega asks each Arduino Micro one after another for their current RPM). 4 bytes per channel. 16 bytes total.
    • 10Hz GPS data. Roughly 200 bytes or so.
    • Pi logs each of the above with timestamps to separate .csv files. Each of the above are currently NOT synced together. This is the real problem!
      • The Pi has no hard system clock (oscillator or equivalent), the software clock and nature of an OS proves inaccurate for syncing these files