Trouble achieving low power on 4100S Plus (CY8C4127AZI-S445)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
brsi_1319346
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I'm new to 4100s plus. I'm trying to achieve a 'storage' mode for a battery powered application. It's a very simple circuit from a CR2032, a sensor and a couple of LEDs.

I've got the consumption at between 1..2mA and I'm disappointed. My expectations were <100uA and the datasheet seems to indicate this is possible.

The application is in deepsleep for 30 seconds at a time, then wakes to check the sensor @ 1mA for 270ms. My CR2032 is flat in 10 days at the moment.

I'm using the Capsense Low power example as a starting point and it uses the WDT interrupt to wake from deep sleep. Capsense is turned off, was removed from project, not needed.

Any thoughts?

What is the 4100S plus family capable of?

Project is attached. Readable, but it's a mess, still need giant cleanup before going to client. Don't judge me.

Thanks,

Brent.

0 Likes
1 Solution
VenkataD_41
750 replies posted 500 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi,

Here are some tips to reduce power consumption further.

1. Increase the Sysclk and HFclk dividers as much as possible until the performance of your application doesn't change. Clocks.PNG

2.  Please go through the application note "PSoC 4 Low power modes and Power reduction techniques" from the link below. Please ensure that you have followed all the points menioned in the application note wherever possible.

https://www.cypress.com/file/121271/download

3. Please select the Debug mode as GPIO in the clocks tab.

dwr.PNG