Activate trace at smart switch demo

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Nicolai
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First like received First reply posted

hi there,

im a newbie at Modus Toolbox, cypress project structures and Bluetooth SDK.

I have to evaluate the Bluetooth Mesh functionality and the SDK of your product. I use 2 CYBT-213043-MESH kits to get an overview.

I download the Mesh_Demp_Smart_Light & Smart_Switch project examples to understand the server & client functionality of the mesh network. I followed all the instructions given by the readme.md at the "smart switch" project, and in general i can see the motion status at the trace of the windows MeshClient tool. But i cant see any trace if i press one of the "user-buttons" of the 2 kits. Of cource the LED is switched on at the smart light app kit, if i press its button, but no trace about any message transfer to smart switch app kit and vice versa.

1. am i wrong with my expectations? Or do i have to change some configurations?

2. How can i activate the trace output of the "smart switch" project? I changed the makefile MESH_MODELS_DEBUG_TRACES ?= 1 & MESH_CORE_DEBUG_TRACES ?= 1 but no output at PUART. I use HTerm with 115200 Baud 8N1. What else do i have to connect / set (jumper)? or configure? I use the USB connector of the board, is this correct?!

Thanks for your help

Nicolai

0 Likes
1 Solution
DheerajPK_41
750 replies posted 500 likes received 500 replies posted

Hi,

I could see PUART traces on Hterm when I programmed Mesh_Demo_Smart_Switch on CYBT-213043-MESH kit. The device has two UART ports - HCI UART and PUART port. The debug messages are configured to route to PUART in mesh_app_hci.c ("mtb_shared\wiced_btsdk\dev-kit\libraries\btsdk-mesh\release-v2.9.0\COMPONENT_mesh_app_lib").

wiced_hal_puart_configuration(921600, PARITY_NONE, STOP_BIT_1);

As you can see the baudrate is 921600 and I have also used it and it works well.