i2c help

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Not applicable
Hello.

I'm still pretty new to the XMC4500 and I'm at a loss with this i2c issue I'm having.

I'm trying (not me, the xmc4500) to talk to an INA3221 current sensor.
It's slave address is configured as 0x40.

I'm building this in Keil uVision5.

Here is my code.. it's basically taken from the i2c example as part of the XMC4500 package for Keil.

// address is 0x40 << 1
#define IO_ADDRESS 0x80

#define MANF_ID_REG 0xFE

#define SDA_PIN P2_5
#define SCL_PIN P2_4
XMC_GPIO_CONFIG_t i2c_sda =
{
.mode = XMC_GPIO_MODE_OUTPUT_OPEN_DRAIN_ALT2,
.output_strength = XMC_GPIO_OUTPUT_STRENGTH_MEDIUM
};

XMC_GPIO_CONFIG_t i2c_scl =
{
.mode = XMC_GPIO_MODE_OUTPUT_OPEN_DRAIN_ALT2,
.output_strength = XMC_GPIO_OUTPUT_STRENGTH_MEDIUM
};

XMC_I2C_CH_CONFIG_t i2c_cfg =
{
.baudrate = 100000U,
};
int main(void)
{
volatile uint8_t received_data;
volatile uint8_t rcv_data2;

XMC_I2C_CH_Init(XMC_I2C0_CH1, &i2c_cfg);
XMC_I2C_CH_SetInputSource(XMC_I2C0_CH1, XMC_I2C_CH_INPUT_SDA, USIC0_C1_DX0_P2_5);
XMC_I2C_CH_SetInputSource(XMC_I2C0_CH1, XMC_I2C_CH_INPUT_SCL, USIC0_C1_DX1_P2_4);
XMC_I2C_CH_Start(XMC_I2C0_CH1);

XMC_GPIO_Init(SCL_PIN, &i2c_scl);
XMC_GPIO_Init(SDA_PIN, &i2c_sda);

XMC_I2C_CH_MasterStart(XMC_I2C0_CH1, IO_ADDRESS , XMC_I2C_CH_CMD_WRITE);
while((XMC_I2C_CH_GetStatusFlag(XMC_I2C0_CH1) & XMC_I2C_CH_STATUS_FLAG_ACK_RECEIVED) == 0U)
{
/* wait for ACK */
}
XMC_I2C_CH_ClearStatusFlag(XMC_I2C0_CH1, XMC_I2C_CH_STATUS_FLAG_ACK_RECEIVED);

XMC_I2C_CH_MasterTransmit(XMC_I2C0_CH1, MANF_ID_REG);
while((XMC_I2C_CH_GetStatusFlag(XMC_I2C0_CH1) & XMC_I2C_CH_STATUS_FLAG_ACK_RECEIVED) == 0U)
{
/* wait for ACK */
}

XMC_I2C_CH_MasterTransmit(XMC_I2C0_CH1, 0xffU);
{
/* wait for ACK */
}

// Restart read
XMC_I2C_CH_MasterRepeatedStart(XMC_I2C0_CH1, IO_ADDRESS , XMC_I2C_CH_CMD_READ);
{
/* wait for ACK */
}

XMC_I2C_CH_MasterReceiveAck(XMC_I2C0_CH1);