Announcements

Help us improve the Power & Sensing Selection Guide. Share feedback

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
nDonnelly
Level 3
Level 3
10 questions asked 25 sign-ins 10 replies posted

HI I am getting the following error when trying to debug XMC, note this is happening for half of my boards, and the other half are connecting no problem, do you have any suggestions on why this might be the case? 

SEGGER J-Link GDB Server V7.92d Command Line Version

JLinkARM.dll V7.92d (DLL compiled Sep 8 2023 09:49:39)

Command line: -if swd -device XMC1302-Q024x0064 -endian little -speed 1000 -port 2331 -swoport 2332 -telnetport 2333 -vd -ir -localhostonly 1 -singlerun -strict -timeout 0
-----GDB Server start settings-----
GDBInit file: none
GDB Server Listening port: 2331
SWO raw output listening port: 2332
Terminal I/O port: 2333
Accept remote connection: localhost only
Generate logfile: off
Verify download: on
Init regs on start: on
Silent mode: off
Single run mode: on
Target connection timeout: 0 ms
------J-Link related settings------
J-Link Host interface: USB
J-Link script: none
J-Link settings file: none
------Target related settings------
Target device: XMC1302-Q024x0064
Target device parameters: none
Target interface: SWD
Target interface speed: 1000kHz
Target endian: little

Connecting to J-Link...
J-Link is connected.
Firmware: J-Link V10 compiled Jan 30 2023 11:28:07
Hardware: V10.10
S/N: 600110425
Feature(s): RDI, FlashBP, FlashDL, JFlash, GDB
Checking target voltage...
Target voltage: 3.32 V
Listening on TCP/IP port 2331
Connecting to target...
ERROR: Could not connect to target.
Target connection failed. GDBServer will be closed...Restoring target state and closing J-Link connection...
Shutting down...
Could not connect to target.
Please check power, connection and settings.

 

0 Likes
1 Solution
Owen_Su
Moderator
Moderator
Moderator
5 questions asked 750 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi, @nDonnelly ,

    1) Perform power on reset.

    2) Check if all the DIP switches are in status 'ON'

Owen_Su_0-1706581660934.png

    3) Try connecting according to the diagram below, and then try to get BMI:

Owen_Su_1-1706581811889.png

    4) Or you can use XMC_LINK connect with the board

(At this time, all DIP switches are normally open)

Owen_Su_2-1706581832015.png

    (At this time, all DIP switches are normally close)

Owen_Su_3-1706582123139.png

    5) Or you can share your hardware connection with us so that we can better analyze the problem. Hope this can help you.

BR,

Owen

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
Owen_Su
Moderator
Moderator
Moderator
5 questions asked 750 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi, @nDonnelly ,

  According to your description, I think that you can check from these aspects below:

  1) When You clicked 'Debug', have you encountered the pop-up window shown in the following picture?

Owen_Su_0-1706578558086.png

    2) If yes, you should check if you have powered up the board correctly first.

    3) If the board have correctly powered up, you can check the BMI value of your board:

Owen_Su_1-1706578760692.png

    Those boards that can debug normally should be in User Mode(P0.14/P0.15), while those abnormal boards maybe in ASC mode. If the board is in ASC mode, you can use DAVE to change it back to User mode and debug it properly.

    4) If the suggestions above cannot solve your problem, you can tell us more detail. Hope this can help you.

BR,

Owen

0 Likes

hi,

When checking the BMI of the board I get the following error :

nDonnelly_0-1706581330121.png

 

0 Likes
Owen_Su
Moderator
Moderator
Moderator
5 questions asked 750 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi, @nDonnelly ,

    1) Perform power on reset.

    2) Check if all the DIP switches are in status 'ON'

Owen_Su_0-1706581660934.png

    3) Try connecting according to the diagram below, and then try to get BMI:

Owen_Su_1-1706581811889.png

    4) Or you can use XMC_LINK connect with the board

(At this time, all DIP switches are normally open)

Owen_Su_2-1706581832015.png

    (At this time, all DIP switches are normally close)

Owen_Su_3-1706582123139.png

    5) Or you can share your hardware connection with us so that we can better analyze the problem. Hope this can help you.

BR,

Owen

0 Likes
Owen_Su
Moderator
Moderator
Moderator
5 questions asked 750 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi, @nDonnelly ,

    Have you solved your problem? Feel free to ask if you have any queries. Thanks!

BR,

Owen

0 Likes
Owen_Su
Moderator
Moderator
Moderator
5 questions asked 750 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi, 

    This thread will be closed due to long time no reply, for the problem about J-LINK error, you can refer to my previous replies and try again.

    You can also create a new thread if you have any other questions, thanks for your understanding.

BR,

Owen

0 Likes