Problems with the Relax Kit-Board SPI-communicaton

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Not applicable
Hi everyone,
my name is Christian and I'm a student of Electrical Engineering in Germany. After having realized several μC projects including TI'sMSP430, I would like to work with Infineon Controllers in my next project. Different measured values should be visualized on a display. Unfortunately, the communication via the SPI-interface doesn't work correctly yet. The display used is a DOGL from the company “Electronic Assembly”. The controller is an Infineon Relax Kit-Board combined with an XMC4500-F100F1024 controller. I am using a Dave 3 Toolchain for the software development. The communication between the display and the controller works via SPI (Half Duplex).

I have two (comprehension) problems:

1. To make it possible for the display to distinguish Command and Data, the Pin A0 has to be switched to "LOW" for Command and to "HIGH" for Data. Thus, first A0 should be switched to “HIGH” to send the data and then the data should be sent via SPI (figure 1). In my opinion, it should look
like that. Of course, I have to wait for the Transmit Buffer to be empty and then A0 has to be switched to “LOW” again. Unfortunately, I can't find the corresponding register which is only deleted when the transmit has beenfinished. I've looked through the data sheets and the user's guide but
couldn't find anything. Maybe you can give an example.

2. As you can see in the source code, 16 hex values should be transferred one after the other. This shouldbe repeated in the while-forever-loop. My expectation is that the values are sent viathe SPI-periphery successively and in the order given by the array. Unfortunately, only a small amount of data is sent and this doesn't happen in the right order (figure 2). I think I made a mistake with the dave-settings of the SPI-interface.

I hope you are able to help me.

Regards,