Can Communication Doubts

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
User11187
Level 2
Level 2
Dear all,

I'm trying to implement a CAN Communication between two xmc4500 based boards.
I configured CAN App to send one Tx message with ID 0x255 and the other board to receive one Rx message with ID 0x255.

When I start to debug I have the first board sending tx message continuously and other board doesn't receive anything. Why?
Could you help me to debug my system? I'm not an expert of can communication.

PS. I can see the Tx messages are sent correctly using a CAN sniffer.

Regards

Matteo
0 Likes
7 Replies
DRubeša
Employee
Employee
First solution authored First like received
Hi Matteo,

we can continue our discussion on this thread also. I will reply to that last question in other thread but here I will ask you to provide me the code for the transmitter and receiver board separately. In other thread you´ve sent me the modified example of loop-back mode, so I guess now you have separated code between two boards. As you mentioned, CAN sniffer can pick up properly transmitted messages so I guess the problem is with receiver board (software OR hardware issue).

Best regards,
Deni
0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
User11187
Level 2
Level 2
Dear Deni,

I attached two separate projects for React and Request.

As I said you I can read Tx messages sent continuously from my sniffer. Why this happens? I used only once transmit function.

Regards

Matteo
0 Likes
DRubeša
Employee
Employee
HI Matteo,

what I saw really quickly....in the example you sent me "Identifier Value" of TX message is 0x7FF, while "Identifier Value" of RX message is 0x255. Obviously, this cannot work.

Fix this and try again 🙂

Best regards,
Deni
0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
User11187
Level 2
Level 2
It doesnt' work anyway.