Where are WiFi network details (eg. SSID) stored?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi team,

I am a new embedded engineer developing a wireless lighting control unit which we hope to use Broadcom hardware in for the mass manufacture of a wifi home automation product. I am new to WICED and am using the 3.5.2 SDK with the BCM943362WCD4_EVB wifi board. At the moment, I am trying to understand the process of how the wifi board connects to a local wifi network and stores that information. Specifically, I am trying to achieve the following:

Modify the temp_control example app to display the current wifi network SSID on the main.html page. Is the Wifi SSID stored somewhere that I can pass to the front end?

Looking at the scan and appliance examples, I can see that it is possible to search, find, display and connect to available wifi networks. I am just unable to replicate the process myself. I have been hunting through those examples which led me to look in the wifi.c and device_configuration_http_content.c files for the appropriate code to copy but am getting really confused with all of the functions and variables which seem to be defined elsewhere and are not commented very thoroughly.

Is anyone able to demystify this for me? Alternatively, are there any tutorials or well commented pieces of code that I can follow? Any guidance would be much appreciated!!

Cheers,

Matt

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi Matthew,

Your comments on the code look right. The default for wifi config information is in

<WICED_SDK>/include/default_wifi_config_dct.h.

Some applications such as apps/apsta have a file wifi_config_dct.h and you can change the information here to download your board with a certain SSID/password/security.

If you want to change the ap you are connecting to dynamically, you can take a look at the function