CYW43907 Boot question

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MaFa_974161
Level 5
Level 5
100 sign-ins 50 replies posted 50 questions asked

Hello,

I'm new in WICED.

I want to develop a board where I don't want to mount external SPI_FLASH.

Is there a way to load program from uSD ?

Fox example using a specific bootloader ...

I want to connect FPGA to SPI_FLASH interface in order to exchange data at high throughput ...

0 Likes
1 Solution
Aditi_B
500 replies posted 5 questions asked 250 replies posted

Hi,

DCT file contains important information about the network and WiFi operations. If you do  not want  the DCT file on SFLASH, you need to make sure to store it somewhere else probably on FPGA. Or else, make sure to perform WiFi operations without incorporating DCT if high-level WICED APIs are used with the help of some other file.

Thanks

Aditi

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
Aditi_B

Hello,

For your reference, the filesystem, OTA application, factory reset application, Wifi firmware, APP0,APP1, APP2, by default all goes in external (serial) flash. There is no specific bootloader that can download the program from uSD card. The waf.bootloader provided in the WICED SDK is a part of the WICED Application Framework (WAF). It is Located at Wiced-SDK/apps/waf/bootloader/bootloader.c .It loads the program image from SFLASH. This implementation is done by the function --> load_program().

For loading the program from uSD, various changes will be required in the SDK itself to first of all, load the program into the uSD instead of flash. Then the bootloader will have to be modified to load the program from uSD instead of SPI flash. This process won't be a straightforward one and you may have to do various modifications. It needs a lot of rework to the existing SDK. There are no specific boot pins that can load the program directly from SD card. I hope this helps.

Thanks

Aditi

OK.