synchronous slave FIFO with external PCLK

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
aswac_3439426
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to the FX3 and need help setting up the FX3 as a slave FIFO with an external clock. I have the superspeed kit, and I am using John Hyde's book for guidance and examples. My application ( high-speed ADC) is very close to one of his examples in the book (GPIF example 4) except for the direction of the clock.

Other than modifying it in the GPIF designer and including the new header file, do I need to make changes to the firmware?

I can probe and confirm the FX3 is not outputing any clock, but the DMA_ready flag for some reason is never asserted in this case.

How shall I approach this issue?

Thanks,

Ashraf

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hello Ashraf,

I have confirmed that I am sending data to the FIFO using the PC utility. I did notice that preceding the data, I get this fixed "pattern" of -269488145

>> Do you mean to say that you are able to receive data on the PC utility.

DMA_Ready flag gets asserted when there is enough space on the buffer. For buffer space to be available, data needs to be read from the host. Please use the CyU3PGpifGetSMState() API to check if the firmware enters the state in which the data is read from the GPIF II interface.

Also, attach the firmware and the GPIF II project files.

Best regards,

Srinath S

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
SrinathS_16
1000 replies posted 750 replies posted 500 replies posted

Hello Ashraf,

- There are no other modifications required other than that in the GPIF II designer.

- Please check if the thread that you are using in the GPIF II corresponds to the DMA ready flag that you are checking.

- Also, check if you are able to perform any read/write with the GPIF II thread in use.

Best regards,

Srinath S

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.

Hello Srinath,