USB3 SUPERSPEED

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
wjlentz
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

I need to use the cyusb3kit-003 SuperSpeed Explorer kit to develop a "logic analyzer" that writes from 16 bit parallel input to windows disk through USB3.   I have a USB2 device that takes data to a buffer, but the readout won't keep up with input.

It is simple.  I need an EXE file for execution under windows command prompt that takes data and writes to binary disk like my current unit.   I am not a programmer, so I need to find someone to do the programming.    I use a high level language to read the binary file and process it.

The web pages lead me in endless circles, and the associates list does not seem to know about the SuperSpeed device.   Short of learning binary coding which I do not have enough time to do,  I see no help. 

0 Likes
4 Replies
AliAsgar
1000 replies posted 250 solutions authored 750 replies posted

Hi,

Please refer to the below KBA for information on using FX3 (CYUSB3KIT-003) as logic analyser:
https://community.infineon.com/t5/Knowledge-Base-Articles/EZ-USB-FX3-Explorer-kit-as-16-channel-100-...

Best Regards,
AliAsgar

0 Likes

Well, that is wonderful and thank you. 

How do I make the output of the USB write to a binary file instead of display it?  I assume that turning off the display is simple, and the bit pattern is meaningless as the bits are random.    I would be counting the NRZ transitions with my higher level program.

Also, I need to supply the clock externally so that the bits are synchronous.   I would be willing to pay for the changes.

0 Likes
AliAsgar
1000 replies posted 250 solutions authored 750 replies posted

Hi,

Do you mean to write the output of the FX3 for a logic analyser into a binary file?
Which clock is needed to be supplied externally?

Could you please explain your application in detail?

Best Regards,
AliAsgar

0 Likes