How to fix bus speed negotiation failure?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
romic_4041961
Level 1
Level 1

I'm working on a consulting project that needs a Composite HID + Bulk device.  I have many years of HID experience, being the author of HIDmaker software for Microchip devices, but I am completely new to Cypress FX3 devices and framework.

I am set up & able to compile & run stock FX3 demos, especially the HID "mouse in a circle" and BulkSrcSink demos on the SuperSpeed Explorer Kit board.  I am able to capture HIgh Speed bus traffic with a Beagle 480 analyzer.

The trouble came in when I tried to make a Composite device by merging code from the Cypress cyfx3_hid demo into the cyfxbulksrcsink demo, to make a single project that contains both a Bulk Interface and a HID Interface. 

I chose to use two separate threads in my merged project : one for the Bulk Interface, and the other for the HID Interface. (I have one CyFxApplicationDefine() function that calls 2 routines that create a thread for the Bulk Interface and another thread for the HID Interface. ) As I am new to FX3, I don't know if trying to use 2 threads like this was a good idea or not.  I would appreciate any feedback you would care to share on that subject.

I have added many CyU3PDebugPrint() statements, to tell me which routines get called.  I have tried running with both threads being created, or only one of these 2 threads being created.

I believe that I have merged the Descriptors together correctly, and have gotten the project to compile without errors, but at run time, the merged project fails in the very beginning of the run, during the bus speed negotiation phase.  Here is a screen shot of a Beagle capture of the merged project with only the HID thread enabled:Merged_HidThread_Suspends.png