Cypress CYW920719Q40-B1 eval kit debugging

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

I'm new to the Cypress MCU world... I purchased a couple of CYW920719Q40-B1 eval kits. I managed to build and download a few of the samples onto the board... Can anyone please tell me how I can now begin to step debug through code/firmware that I download to them in WICED v6.1?

Additionally, is there any additional equipment I need?

Thanks

Steve Tigher

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
RanjithK_41
Employee
Employee
5 sign-ins First comment on KBA 10 questions asked

Hi Steve,

Please follow the procedure below for JTAG-SWD debugging in CYW920719Q40EVB-01

Install

https://www.segger.com/downloads/jlink/JLink_Windows.exe

I have attached a sample application in this post.

Please remember not to use PUART and SWD at the same time if the lines are shorted in the schematics. In case of CYW920719Q40EVB-01, P33 and P34 are respectively used for SWDCK/PUART_TXD and SWDIO/PUART_RXD.

Comment the PUART part in your application and also remove the jumpers connecting PUART in the evaluation board.

Please change the include/20719/internal/gpiofunction.h to the example attached in this post (new_swd_gpio).

For wiced 6.1

Include the following snippet in your application. Make sure you use specify the pins correctly.

//The following also should work.

#include "wiced_hal_gpio.h"

#include "gpiofunction.h"

void _tx_v7m_set_int(unsigned int posture);

unsigned int _tx_v7m_get_int(void);

/// When debugging is enabled, sets up the HW for debugging.

#define SETUP_APP_FOR_DEBUG_IF_DEBUG_ENABLED() do{          \

wiced_hal_gpio_select_function(WICED_P10, SWDIO); \

wiced_hal_gpio_select_function(WICED_P11, SWDCK); \

wiced_hal_wdog_disable(); \

}while(0)

/// Optionally waits in a pseudo while(1) until the user allows the CPU to continue