tiny and free HCI protocol stack

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello guys

i'm new in BLE, i pretend to connect via BLE temperature tags to a phone app.

the device is based on an STM32 mcu and the wiced BCM20737S SOC, both connected thorugh HCI uart, does anybody know if there is a free and small footprint HCI uart protocol stack so i can do the following functions:

- being discovered from APP.

- transfer data from my interna event log.

- keep as much as posible lowest consumption.

Regards

Joan

0 Likes
1 Solution
MichaelF_56
250 sign-ins 25 comments on blog 10 comments on blog

For our WICED Smart BCM2073X solution, the entire certified stack is embedded in ROM and we do not provide a means for direct HCI level access other than what is possible using the MBT tools provided in SDK 2.x (these are more aimed at passing regulatory).

Note that the HCI UART is for programming the device only (either using the SDK or command line tools that are referenced throughout the website), so the PUART is the correct one to attach to an external MCU.

For a beginner with BLE trying to build a simple application like the one described, the Anaren Atmosphere or ACKme Networks Development kits would be better suited for a task like this one and you could have a working prototype by the end of the week.  The Broadcom SDK has a much higher barrier to entry and is normally better suited for users with 5-7 years of embedded development experience.

david_armour

View solution in original post

0 Likes
11 Replies
MichaelF_56
250 sign-ins 25 comments on blog 10 comments on blog

For our WICED Smart BCM2073X solution, the entire certified stack is embedded in ROM and we do not provide a means for direct HCI level access other than what is possible using the MBT tools provided in SDK 2.x (these are more aimed at passing regulatory).