Re: HW Timer in 2073x (con't)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

Regarding this closed thread here: HW Timer in 2073x

can you explain a little bit that how can we access the register of a timer? I want to start a timer at a specific point and if sth happens later I want to stop the timer and measure the time it took between these two(start and stop). also, this elapsed time is in order of 1-3 milliseconds so the timer resolution must be high I guess. I was thinking of using hw_timer but I didn't find enough resources about its register and how to operate it. if you help me a little I will be thankful forever...(if you have another method of measuring the time between two incidents I  will be thankful to hear it.)

BTW, I'm new to all these and I'm using bcm20737(now cyw20737?)

0 Likes
1 Solution

I think there is some discussion on the stability of the FW operation for anything below 3.5ms as the watchdog may be tripped.

ble_trace0 is to display the argument message when triggered, useful for tracing. There are some good threads in the forum like the below:

BCM20737S HW timer problem

View solution in original post

6 Replies
BoonT_56
Employee
Employee
500 likes received 250 likes received 100 likes received

You can try out something similar to the below:

devlpm_registerForLowPowerQueries(app_hw_timer_device_lpm_queriable, 0); /*disable sleep*/

hw_timer_register_timer_expired_callback(app_hw_timer_interrupt_handler);

hw_timer_start(100000); /*start the timer, expiring in 100ms*/

void app_hw_timer_int_handler(void)

{

hw_timer_stop(); /*clears interrupt*/

ble_trace0("hw timer fire");

hw_timer_start(100000); /*restart the HW timer to expire in 100ms*/

}

Remember to declare interrupt handler.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the answer, I do appreciate it.