Output power of BGT24MTR11

Announcements

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
ielopez
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First reply posted First question asked

Dear Infineon Community,

I am a researcher at the Universidad Politecnica de Madrid. I am currently uing the radar sensors BGT24MTR11. I have designed some PCBs with a radar system based on the chip BGT24MTR11. I have encountered a problem measuring the output power at the TX, TXX outputs. I measure -15 dBm, in stead of the 10 dBm written in the datasheet and application notes. I explain below the techniques followed to carry out the measurements.

To measure the putput power at TX and TXX ports of BGT24MTR11, the TX and TXX outputs of one of these PCBs are not connected to an antenna. They are connected to an spectrum analyzer (using microstrip line, a connector and a cable). In more detail, the connection is TX output - matching network presented in pag 20 of the datasheet of BGT24MTR11 - 50 Ohm microstrip line (2 cm long) - 50 Ohm southwest connector - Cable - Spectrum Analyzer.

-The stack-up of the PCB is the same as the one presented in pag 20 of the datasheet of BGT24 MTR11 (0.254 mm layer of Ro4350B).

-The 50 Ohm transmission line is simulated. The losses introduced are around 0.2 dB in the frequency band.

-The connector is measured. The losses introduced are smaller than 1 dB in the frequency band.

-The cable is measured. The losses introduced are smaller than 0.5 dB in the frequency band.

-The complete system (including matching network, transmission lines and connectors) is simulated. The losses are smaller than 1.5 dB in the frequency band.

-The resolution bandwidth of the spectrum analyzer is set to 8 MHz.

Using this configuration,

-I bias the BGT24MTR11 with 3.3 V.