SPI Master is not working properly

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
kemic_264446
Level 4
Level 4
First like received

The SPI Master control component does not work properly.

If I have an SPI Master component in my design, properly connected to some I/O Pins and try to send an Array of data to it, even if the size of the array easily fits into the defined buffer, then the SPI Component drops the SS line between each byte being output.

I believe that this is a bug in the implementation of the component.

The SS line should not be dropped bewteen bytes, as this signals the end of the transmission to the slave. 

It makes it impossible to do sequential writes or reads to slave devices.

There are two possible work arounds that I can see:

1. Manually control the SS I/O Pin, but this is always going to be sub-optimal and some slave devices may not like the timing.

2. Manually disable / re-enable the TXInterrupt - but I do not think this will work, if using a buffer bigger than 4 bytes, then the SPIM_WriteTxData() method forcibly re-enables the interrupt anyway. And SPIM_PutArray() calls SPIM_WriteTxData().

So the SPI Master control does not work as intended unless you manually control the SS line. To do that you'd need to add an OR gate and an extra Output Pin (without hardware connection) or Control register to your design.

Having looked at the generated source I believe I can see what is happening...