How to compile project

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JBtj_3717001
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have a handheld device that contains both the ARM® Cortex®-M3 CY8c5866 and ARM® Cortex®-M0 CY8C4247-BL chip.

To update the firmware, we received .cyacd files (110KB) and it all works fine. However, we would like to maintain and compile the firmware ourselfes. I obtained the full firmware source code, and would like to edit and compile it.

I have no experience with PSoC Creator yet...

I installed "PSoCCreatorSetup_3.3_dp1_b9674.exe" (which was adviced) and loaded the project. Running F6 results in the same error as stated in this question: Cannot find Generated_Sources

After some searching, I found that "Keil" provides a compiler. However, when I set the path, it returns a message that the limit of 32KB is exceeded. The paid version is quite expansive, and its unclear to me what paid version I would require.

Question: Is Keil the only compiler I can use, or are there other (free / better / cheaper) compilers that I can use?

I was advised to install PSoC Creator 3.3 dp1

Question: Is there any downside to installing a newer version of PSoC Creator

Thank you,

-J

0 Likes
1 Solution

You need to install the Keil ARM MDK compiler since it doesn't come packaged with PSoC Creator.

Once installed, in PSoC Creator, go to Tools > Options > ARM Toolchains and then point to the bin directory as shown below:

"C:\Keil\ARM\ARMCC\bin"

pastedImage_1.png

Click Apply and then build the project. Let me know if it works

Regards,

Dheeraj

View solution in original post

3 Replies
VenkataD_41
750 replies posted 500 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi,

>>"Is there any downside to installing a newer version of PSoC Creator"

--> No. There will not be any problem.