SysTick for timing measurement

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
maitriya_damani
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Hello everyone,

I am currently studying the effect of different reload intervals on the SysTick Timer running at different frequencies using interrupts. The code is very basic and simple, estimating the time to execute  CyDelay(1000) on the CM0+ and CM4. Ideally the output value should be (1000 ms +/- clock accuracy  of 1%) but I am seeing a deviation of approx. -ve 7.15% in the result (928-929) for both CM0+ and CM4 running at 100KHz with reload interval of '10'. This means I read the time values in 100microsecond steps.  I have also tested the code with multiple delay values (50,250,500,2000,etc), the result however is still a negative deviation. eg.) a delay of 1000ms is executed in 929ms which is weird.

The deviation increases to approx -45% when the reload interval is changed to '1' with the same clock frequency of 100KHz.

Please find the code attached along with the output. Could anyone please help me with the same ?

Can't seem to figure out what exactly is wrong with these specific configurations of clock and reload interval that it is giving erroneous result.

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
1 Solution
RodolfoGL
Employee
Employee
250 solutions authored 250 sign-ins 5 comments on KBA

A proper timing measurement scheme shouldn't add too much overhead in your system. In your case, you are basically generating an interrupt on every 1 ms. 

A better way is to obtain the current system stick time, then add to a counter, where the counter is incremented, let's say every 1 second or when the SystTick timeouts.

Here is an example how to implement the SysTick handler and a function to read it.

void systick_callback(void)
{
    systick_ov++;
}

uint32_t get_tick()
{