Problem with simple I2C Master

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
LaPe_296836
Level 2
Level 2
First like received

I have lots of experience running I2C Master's with PSoC 5LP, but this is my first try with PSoC 6, and I'm pulling my hair out!  I've got it down to a very simple bit of code:

int

main( void )

{

cy_stc_scb_i2c_master_xfer_config_t i2c_xfer_config;

cy_stc_scb_i2c_context_t         i2c_context;

uint8_t write_buf[1] = {0x0};

__enable_irq(); /* Enable global interrupts. */

I2C_MASTER_Start();

while (1)

{

while (I2C_MASTER_MasterGetStatus() & CY_SCB_I2C_MASTER_BUSY) {}

i2c_xfer_config.slaveAddress = CTP_I2C_ADDR;    // slave address (0x38)

i2c_xfer_config.buffer = write_buf;             // buffer

i2c_xfer_config.bufferSize = 1;                 // byte count = 1

i2c_xfer_config.xferPending = 0;                // complete transfer (generate a STOP)

Cy_SCB_I2C_MasterWrite(I2C_MASTER_HW, &i2c_xfer_config, &i2c_context);

CyDelay(10);

}

}

Running on CM4 core (using the DevKit 063).  The while condition is getting satisfied all the time, but no pin wiggling!  I've verified that I can wiggle the pin as GPIO.

I set a breakpoint in the ISR that is registered and enabled as part of  I2C_MASTER_Start();, and it never gets hit.

I don't see any how-to guides that use the simple I2C_MASTER_Start() method -- all of the examples do all of the steps at a lower level, including registering and enabling the interrupt.  BTW - for pins I'm using P6[4] and P6[5], configured as pullup-high, drive low, bidirs.

Any help at this point would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Larry

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi Larry,

I think that you are using PSoC Creator because you have I2C Start API with instance name. Please, confirm.