PSoC6 board not recognized by computer after failed firmware update

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
ArCh_4795556
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm a college student using a Cypress CY8CPROTO-063-BLE (PSoC6) board for a course, this is my first time working with this board. I was trying to use the board for the first time to run a Hello World example, and opened PSoC6 creator inside my Windows 10 VM, running on my MacBook.

PSoC6 creator said it expected a firmware of 1.01, while the board firmware was 1.05, and said to update through PSoC6 Programmer. Thus, I opened the programmer (while keeping the creator open, which I later learned I'm not supposed to do), and tried to updating firmware. The first few times I tried update, the VM software would prompt me as to whether I want to connect the board & bootloader to Mac or Windows, which would cause an error before the upgrade began, with a pop up saying the boot loader was not recognized. I then marked the prompt to always connect to Widows without asking, and tried updating again. This time, the update began successfully, with a green bar appearing, but then a pop up said the boottloader was not recognized again, and the update failed again.