PSOC 6: I2C ISR Tickless freeRTOS

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
mvpablo
Level 2
Level 2
10 sign-ins 5 replies posted 5 questions asked

I have an Arduino uno as a master, sending data via I2C to a PSoC 6 slave board CY8CKIT-062S2-43012.

I'm using modustoolbox with freeRTOS. See attached code.

Everything works fine while in DEBUGGING MODE. Basically every time the uno sends data to the  PSoC 6. the data buffer is put as a message in a queue and then another task will take those messages and process them .

But when I flash and run the program again. It just doesn't work. 

I read from some posts that it is because in debug mode the deep sleep is disabled. So I added a callback for deep sleep but still doesn't work. 

then I changed the parameter configUSE_TICKLESS_IDLE in the freeRTOS config file to 0 and that solved the problem. 

What does it mean to have the tickless parameter to zero (0) ? it means that now my app doesn't have power save mode?

Is this the right way to do it? or maybe use HAL to just modify the I2C interrupt to wake up from deepsleep, which I tried but it didn't work?

thanks 

IMG_7721 copy.jpg

/* Check if the ModusToolbox Device Configurator Power personality parameter
 * "System Idle Power Mode" is set to either "CPU Sleep" or "System Deep Sleep".
 */
#if defined(CY_CFG_PWR_SYS_IDLE_MODE) && \
    ((CY_CFG_PWR_SYS_IDLE_MODE == CY_CFG_PWR_MODE_SLEEP) || \
     (CY_CFG_PWR_SYS_IDLE_MODE == CY_CFG_PWR_MODE_DEEPSLEEP))
/* Enable low power tickless functionality. The RTOS abstraction library
 * provides the compatible implementation of the vApplicationSleep hook:
 * https://github.com/cypresssemiconductorco/abstraction-rtos#freertos
 * The Low Power Assistant library provides additional portable configuration layer
 * for low-power features supported by the PSoC 6 devices: