Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
pblemel
Level 4
Level 4
25 replies posted 25 sign-ins First like received

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to understand how to initiate a read from the SPI.  I have an SPI master block on my design/schematic. I am reading from a slave that transmits over MISO beginning when CS is asserted and the clock toggles. I call SPI_SetActiveSlaveSelect() and see it go low, but need to clock in the data.

Digging down through SPI_Read() I get to Cy_SCB_SPI_Read(), which has a comment:

* This function only reads data available in the RX FIFO. It does not initiate an SPI transfer.

but the next comment says

* When in the master mode, this function writes data into the TX FIFO and waits until the transfer is completed before reading data from the RX FIFO.

Which would seem to imply that it initiates an SPI transfer by writing something into the TX FIFO.  

How do I initiate a read from MISO into the RX buffer?

Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution

pblemel,

It appears that sending a "dummy" Tx 16-bits provides a non-zero and non 0xFFFF response from the MAX6675 slave IC.

According to the datasheet, bit 15 and bit 0 should equal '0' in both cases.  Is this the case?   If not this might be a clue.

What is the state of bit 2?  If set to '1' this indicates a open thermocouple connection.  If '1', this could be a reason for the constant value returned.

According to the MAX6675 datasheet, this should be the settings of the SPI Master for the PSoC.

Len_CONSULTRON_0-1665487138038.png

Len
"Engineering is an Art. The Art of Compromise."

View solution in original post

0 Likes
11 Replies
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

pblemel,

Can you provide what SPI slave device you are talking to with your SPI master?