CY8CPROTO-062-4343W and Level Translator for UART

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Michael_Kupfner
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Hi,

I'm studying the schematic of CY8CPROTO-062-4343W PSoC 6 Wi-Fi BT Prototyping Kit. Level shifters (U10, U12) have been used between PSoC5LP (KitProg) and PSoC 6 because of different voltage domains (P5LP_VDD and VTARG). Affected signals:

P5LP1_6 <-> UART_RTS  (U10)
P5LP15_5 <-> UART_CTS (U12)

I'm now asking myself why Cypress/Infineon has chosen U12 instead of routing VTARG directly to VDDIO2 of PSoC5LP.

Similar considerations also apply for CY8CKIT-062-BLE (PSoC 6 BLE Pioneer Board), where level translater U13 has been used for SPI and UART. Here, SPI_MISO signal (KitProg SIO pin P12[5]) has been routed via U13, although SIO pin has Vref-feature and P5LP_SIO_VREF = VTARG_MON = P6_VDD ( != 5V).

I'm happy about every idea.

Michael

0 Likes
1 Solution
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Michael,

It appears Cypress made a design choice based on the different voltage domains used by the PSoC5LP used on the KitProg circuits and the PSoC6 used for the target.

The PSoC5LP operating voltage range is 1.8V to 5.5V.

The PSoC6 operating voltage range is 1.8V to 3.6V.

Since ~5V is supplied using the KitProg USB interface, an LDO is needed to power the PSoC6 to no more than 3.6V.

In theory both micros could have been powered off the same LDO down to 1.8V.  This should eliminate the need for the level shifters.   They chose not to do that.  The PSoC5LP is run at 5V.

You are correct that the PSo5LP SIOs have the ability to use a Vref as a reference voltage for level-shifted inputs and outputs.  This also would have avoided external level shifters.  They could have used a PSoC5LP analog pin to input the LDO output voltage and use that voltage as the Vref for the SIO.