Audio + CDC USB composite device descriptor/USB Configurator issues

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Bart
Level 1
Level 1
First question asked Welcome!

I am new to the Infineon/Cypress ecosystem. Please be patient with me.

I have a CY8PROTO-062-4343W PSoC 6 board and am using Eclipse IDE for ModusToolbox.

What I am trying to create is a composite USB device based on PSoC 6. I need two in/out audio channels and two CDC ports. I think I know what I have to do. I get the general idea of a composite device. I need to remove the HID part, add two CDCs, and add three IADs: one for the audio part and one for each CDC.

I found a post that is related to what I am trying to do: https://community.infineon.com/t5/PSoC-6/USB-Composite-device-Audio-CDC/m-p/290605 I am also trying to use USB_Audio_Device_FreeRTOS as a starting point, and while I need two CDCs, even one would be a good starting point. The proposed solution was a descriptor in an XML format. I tried manually copying it to the USB Configurator and, sadly, failed:

1) In the top level descriptor, the XML contains the following values:

<bDeviceClass>0x00</bDeviceClass>
<bDeviceSubClass>0x00</bDeviceSubClass>
<bDeviceProtocol>0x00</bDeviceProtocol>
The USB Configurator complains (as far as I can tell, correctly) that the values should be 0xEF, 0x02 and 0x01, respectively. It does not let me save the configuration until I enter the required values.

2) Both audio and CDC try to use endpoint EP2 IN and the USB configurator complains again. I had to change the CDC endpoint to EP5

Even with these changes, it does not work. Windows 10 says "This device cannot start. (Code 10){Operation Failed} The requested operation was unsuccessful."

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
Bart

0 Likes
1 Solution
Ekta_N
750 replies posted First like given 250 solutions authored

Hello @Bart