iDAC and DeltaSigma ADC return values

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MiSc_4705741
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

i am new to the world of PSOC and have more of a digital, than analog background, so i hope my question is somewhat valid.

I'm doing a project and try to build a signal simulator for it - very weak signals. I use the CY8CKIT-059 kit. For basic testing i use this setup:

DAC_ADC.png

The WaveDAC is an iSource. The VDAC is there to pull the signal to zero, so i can lower the input range of the ADC. The digital filter in the end is there so i can calculate the signal to noise ratio (SNR). In this setup i get a sinus signal between about 0 - 2.2V.

My goal is to dampen the signal. just in this setup i have two possibilities to do so

a) lower the WaveDAC output range to either 0-255 uA (8x smaller) or 0-32uA (64x smaller)

b) make the resistor smaller

a) works perfectly. the ADC reads signals that are about as much smaller as they should be. if I test with an oscilloscope at the Testpoint (TP) it's somewhat the same.

b) on the other hand does not at all, what it should (or at least i think it should).
if i replace the 1K Resistor at R_DAC with a 10 Ohm resistor, the signal should be 100x smaller (0-20mV). if i test with the oscilloscope at the TP it is roughly in the correct neighborhood. the signal has a 20mV offset and is only 66x smaller, but that is still much closer, than what the ADC reads. Peak-to-Peak the ADC gets 220mV, so only 10x smaller instead of 100x.

if I use a 1 Ohm resistor, it should be 1000x smaller (0-2mV). The oscilloscope tells me of 8mV peak-to-peak (275x smaller), but the ADC reads 175mV peak-to-peak (only 12x smaller!!)

What do i do wrong? The ADC is set to continous and bypass buffer, so there should be no gain, or?

The signals look fine - i get an SNR of mostly over 50db.