Trying to configure the OpAmp for Mode:OpAmp and Mode:Follower at run-time

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Hi,

I'm a seasoned PSoC application designer.  I'm using a PSoC 5LP.  I have an application that uses the OpAmp v1.90.

Most of the time I need to configure the OpAmp with a mode = OpAmp.  The '-' input is routed to an external pin of a current sense resistor.  However due to the < 1Meg ohm input impedance (observed but not specified in the datasheet), I cannot resolve to < 30uA of current due to the extra draw and resultant noise.

If I "hard" configure the mode = Follower, I can resolve very low currents to ~ 1uA with much lower noise.

I want to configure the OpAmp to mode = OpAmp in the TopDesign and switch to mode=Follower in the code at run0time when needing to resolve to 1uA.  I can operate at the register level if needed but it would be nice if there were some API calls to provide this.

Note:  I tried using a analog mux external to the OpAmp to perform this desired function.  I noticed many problems doing this successfully and had to abandon the attempt.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Len

Len
"Engineering is an Art. The Art of Compromise."
0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi,

In CYWDR you can see the switch address which enables the follower mode if you hover over the switch. Try writing this register run time.

pastedImage_0.png

View solution in original post

0 Likes
8 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

Len,

can you explain how you measure 1uA current in Follower mode?

/odissey1

0 Likes
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

odissey1,