Timer, configuration / API problem for pulse to pulse time of quadrature signal.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
ScDe_1334511
Level 2
Level 2
5 questions asked 10 sign-ins First like given

Hi, I'm a novice PSoC 3, PSoC Creator user & C programmer (a 'gear head', electronics guy, as it were) and am having trouble configuring a Timer component to do what I believe is one of the functions for which it's designed, namely, measuring the time between rising edges of a pulse train (in this case, SIN of a Quadrature encoded sensor). I suspect I'm just missing something in Cypress documentation. The pulse train is coming from a quadrature encoded sensor on a rotating shaft at 0-300 RPM (one pulse of SIN per revolution). With this maximum speed, the pulse to pulse time can vary from near infinity (0 RPM) down to  about 200mSec. I chose a 16bit Timer running continuously and clocked at 100Hz to provide nearly 11 minutes before a TC. The plan being that the Timer would be started and the first capture would cause an initial interrupt. This first interrupt would provide a 'bogus' count (time) that would be 'counter_read' in the ISR to a variable. Each successive capture thereafter would be the time to the next pulse (rising edge). In the ISR, the intent was to reset the Counter running count to FFFF after each read to allow for a TC to produce 'zero' RPM after the ~11 minutes as well as avoid having to deal with the wrap around at counter=zero producing negative numbers.  The only 'reset' of the counter I'm seeing is to '_INIT' and then '_START'. Thusly:

CY_ISR(Sens0_Timer_interrupt_Handler)           // Macro ISR declaration, interrupts on TC and Capture

{

Flag_Timer_Sen0=Timer_Sens0_ReadCounter();  // Sets Flag to the capture value of the timer;

Timer_Sens0_Init();                                                 // Resets counter to hardware initial state (0xFFFF)