Serial F-RAM (FM25VN10-G) used as a LVGL GUI buffer with PSoC5LP?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
SaKrst
Level 3
Level 3
5 likes given First like received First like given

Hello there,

I would like to know is there a way to use serial type of memory with PSoC5 MCU's EMIF component. In one of my earlier posts I managed to run LVGL GUI on PSoC5 platform, so now I would like to use external RAM for display buffer as it is supported by LVGL. By reading a datasheet for EMIF I concluded that it's intended to be used with memories that use some sort of parallel interface. If that is the case, is there a way to use serial RAM with PSoC5 as a graphics buffer or is that only possible on PSoC6 series of MCU's with SMIF component?

Just to mention that I have no experience with EMIF or external memories so any help would be nice, and I'm sorry if my post is a bit of a mess.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi DheerajK_81​,

Thanks for the reply. By doing some more research I found this code example​(CE204087) which I think should work with FM25V10 memory.

After looking upon EMIF example I'm wondering if it would be possible to use nvRAM/F-RAM component from the example that I mentioned with external RAM address range or that is reserved only for EMIF component?

Thank you,

Sava

View solution in original post

0 Likes
3 Replies
DheerajK_81
First comment on KBA First comment on blog 5 questions asked

Yes you're right about EMIF, it is a parallel interface. If you are looking for a serial interface implementation, please refer to this: https://www.cypress.com/file/380711/download

To know more about the EMIF component, the code example should serve as a good reference: https://www.cypress.com/documentation/code-examples/ce95312-external-memory-interface-emif-psoc-35lp

Note that it is a quad spi based implementation, and won't be supported for the memory chip you are using. You can just make use of this as a reference.