Sending adc data to ESP32 using SPI

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
jadkh
Level 2
Level 2
First solution authored 10 replies posted 10 sign-ins

Hello Infineon World! 

I'm using PSoC 5LP (CY8KIT-59) and I'm reading the data of a 3 axial accelerometer using the 3 ADCs. I want to send the 3 axis values continuously to the ESP32 (SPI) 

First the PSoC5LP will work as a master or a slave? 

Should I use the DMA request buffer to send it to the ESP32? I can see there's no digital output in the ADCs in TopDesign, but only in the main we can get it by calling ADC_GetResult() 

How to send all 3 axis' data to one component (ESP32)

Sorry I am new to SPI and PSOC

0 Likes
1 Solution

Jad,

Whether you use 3 ADCs with no AMux or 1 ADC with a 3-input AMux, the cross-talk would be about the same.  There are advanced ways to minimize the cross-talk but that discussion is for another day.

Looking at the sensor's spec, the maximum per axis sample rate is 6 Ksps.  With 16-bit resolution,  that is 12 KBps.  Using a UART with 8N1, the datarate needed by the UART is 120Kbps.  Close to the standard 115.2Kbps rate.

To transmit 3 axis of data you would need a minimum of 360Kbps.  This is possible with most CPUs.

Natural resonance of the system

Since you are using an accelerometer it is intended to be installed on a system.  The intended system has a maximum natural resonance.  This resonance will be lower if the system has more mass.  (It's a momentum factor).  Therefore, you need to determine the natural resonance of your system.  If it is a heavy system, the resonance will be at a low frequency. Therefore the effective sensor sample  rate can be lower.   

For example, an automobile has a very low resonant frequency because of its large mass.  A sample rate 100 Hz is usually sufficient.

Therefore the output to the ESP32 can be 1Kbps for one axis and 3Kbps for 3 axises.