PsoC 5lp external battery

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Dimaty
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Hi,

I have a cy8ckit-059 and I would like to power it using a 3.7V battery previously used in a drone. I would like to have a button that turns the system on and off from the battery and also I would like the battery to be charged when the board is connected through the USB port. As I'm really a newbie to this world can you please guide to how can I make it work if it is at all possible?

The battery has all the required protections built in so if I connect it to a 5V 1A source (regular USB charger or PC) it can be charged without any trouble.

Thanks ahead for your help!

0 Likes
1 Solution

Dimaty,

Thanks for the feedback.

The battery you referenced may have overvoltage protection but it does not have a LiPo charging circuit.  

The charging board you referenced should do the trick.  It has a USB-C connector that can support > 0.5A input from a USB phone charging device with higher current output.

I figured you would be detaching the KitProg from the 059 kit.

If you would like to keep the charging circuit on the final assembly.  It is possible.

Len_CONSULTRON_0-1638713045565.png

There are a few reasons this may not be optimum especially if you are creating a device that requires long battery duration and light-weight.

• The battery charging circuit weighs a few grams.
  • The battery always  connected to the PsoC and the battery charging circuit will discharge the battery even when not in use.  In drones, it is recommended to disconnect the battery when not in use.  You can also place an in-line switch to the B+ terminal of the battery.
  • The battery charge circuit takes up some space.

If you off-board the charging circuit, you can eliminate the issues above.