PWM maximum output frequency and register programming

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MiCo_4221156
Level 2
Level 2
5 likes given First like received First like given

Hi

I am a EE student and i just got my first job and i need to use Psoc eventually for monitoring a motor.

first ,if someone have some tips how to learn better the Psoc 5 world and embedded systems for a newbie i would really apprentice it.

question 1 :

I find it difficult to understand what are the PWM limitations.

i played with the component and i found out that at  - 16 bit resolution , at clock of 12.5 MHz, i got out put frequency of a 183 Hz.

i used clock of 12.5 MHz because that is the highest frequency  that get build without a warning. (i did used higher clock frequency's but the output did not change, measured by scop).

• there is a way to generate higher clock frequency's ? maybe via the firmware?

question 2 :

I read the the Clock section at Architecture_TRM  and i saw a lot of Macro's, there is a way to program via those Macro's? is it a pathway to program the register's directly?

im asking that question because my boss told me that via complete control  of the register ill get better results.

• is it the right way to work with Psoc? or that the Giu and the basic API's are the optimal way?

thank's

Michael

0 Likes
1 Solution
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Michael,

Welcome to the world of EE and to the Cypress Microsystem PSoC!

Let's see if I can help you.

Question #1.

With a input clock of 12.5MHz and a maximum divisor of 65536 (16-bit), you will receive a PWM clock of 190.735 Hz.  You already knew that.