PSoC5lp ADC and I2C slave (reading duplicate values)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
mwors7
Level 2
Level 2
10 replies posted 10 sign-ins 5 replies posted

Dear community,

This post is quite similar to one I previously posted (sorry for that) however I am more interested in how the PSoC5lp I2C slave works under the API functions.

Currently I have a raspberry pi I2C master reading 16-bit ADC data from a PSoC5lp (CY8KIT-059). I have set the ADC conversion rate to 2000 samples/second and the I2C bus frequency to 400 bits/second. Thus, for only one slave, the I2C bus is running more than fast enough to read the 2000 samples/second in time and I believe this is fine. My issue is that I believe the raspberry pi master is coming back to the PSoC5lp I2C slave before I2C slave buffer has had time to update to the next ADC sample. See I2C_data_duplicates.jpg attachment (it looks like a valid EMG signal which is what the ADC is sampling), however the signal is over sampled (I am tensing my bicep for 3 seconds and thus there should be approximately 6000 samples in each burst). I2C_data_duplicates_zoom.jpg shows that for each sample there are around 3 or 4 consecutive duplicate samples with approx. 25000 samples in a burst. Thus, post-processing I decided to write some code to remove consecutive duplicates (I2C_data_no_duplicates.jpg/ I2C_data_no_duplicates_zoom.jpg). When removing the duplicates, the approx. number of samples in a burst reduces to 6581 (which when divided by 3 seconds) is about 2193.67 samples/second. Removing duplicates, the sample rate is close to what is set in PSoC creator. Removing duplicates is not a robust solution of course - as sometimes a duplicate sample might actually be correct.