PSoC5LP: Oscilloscope, Logic Analyser, Signal Generator

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everyone,

I found these articles

http://www.embedded.com/design/prototyping-and-development/4421857/Configuring-a-PSoC-for-a-DIY-osci... 

http://www.embedded.com/design/prototyping-and-development/4421858/Configuring-a-PSoC-for-a-DIY-osci...

on how to use the PSoC5LP to make an electronics lab kit (with oscilloscope, signal generator and logic analyser) and I thought it will be a great final year project. However, I have several issues:

1. Can the PSoC5 be bought as a single chip one can use on a custom PCB? I have only seen it as part of a kit.

2. The article does not give details on how to program the different blocks and components used. How do I do this (I'm fairly new to the C-language)?

I appreciate your help.

0 Likes
53 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

1. Can the PSoC5 be bought as a single chip one can use on a custom PCB? I have only seen it as part of a kit.

Yes, very much so. Most product solutions using PSOC are PSOC centric, and require few external

components because of the mixed signal nature of PSOC coupled with CPLD/FPGA like digital resources.

2. The article does not give details on how to program the different blocks and components used. How do I do this (I'm fairly new to the C-language)?

I would contact the authors, their email address is at end of the articles. Normally one

uses a DVK board to do development, then go to PCB.

There are many videos on PSOC, start with the PSOC Creator 101 series.

http://video.cypress.com/video-library/video/PSoC-Software

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9

Just a thought, if you are new to C, and to PSOC, you might consider

tackling a portion of the design, vs the whole design. Unless of course