PSOC5LP DMA from RAM to peripheral

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
s1m1ch
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First reply posted First question asked

Hi.

I'm working on a custom LCD driver where I want to transfer a predefined amount of 16-bit data from RAM to two 8-bit control registers, where every single element transfer is synchronous to the LCD clock. 

Due to LCD size, the amount of data to be sequentially transferred could be up to 130,560 elements (for 480x272 pix) of course if external RAM is used and at least 32 descriptors defined.

Everything working fine if I define it to transfer less than or equal 4095 elements which is the amount of one descriptor, but if I generate more than one descriptor DMA is not working as expected, the data seems to get corrupted on the control registers side.

I'm new to PSOC5LP so maybe I'm missing something. Please see a part of the code and the schematic in the attachment.

Any hints or suggestions would be grateful.

BR Simon

0 Likes
4 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

Simon,

The DMA already has all necessary counters, so external counters (PWM_1, PWM_2 and extra logic) are unnecessary. Just the clock and DMA_1. The DMA TermIn is very seldomly used due to its implementation; it is unnecessary in this case.

The simple way is to slice DMA TDs into equal portions, like

480x272 = 480x8x34=3840x34 (34 TDs of 3840 length each)

#define DESCRIPTOR_LEN       3840
#define N_OF_DESCRIPTORS 34

And corrected lines of code should look like:

for(...){
CyDmaTdSetConfiguration(DMA_1_TD[i], 2*DESCRIPTOR_LEN, DMA_1_TD[i+1], CY_DMA_TD_INC_SOURCE_ADDR | C_DMA_AUTO_EXECUTE_NEXT);
}

CyDmaTdSetConfiguration(DMA_1_TD[i], 2*DESCRIPTOR_LEN, DMA_1_TD[0], CY_DMA_TD_INC_SOURCE_ADDR | C_DMA_AUTO_EXECUTE_NEXT | DMA_1__TD_TERMOUT_EN);