Modify ADC DelSig sample values

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
JoDu_3224996
Level 2
Level 2

Hello,

I'm a PSoC beginner and I need to apply a math function to each sample converted by an ADC in order to have a certain result on the output of a VDAC. This needs to be applied considering that the value of the samples is read in Volts.

I'm using an ADC DelSig with 16 bits and I'm only transferring the 12 MSB to a DVDAC with 12-bit resolution through DMA. Also, I'm using an oscilloscope to analyze the results.

Basically, the question is: is there any way to access each sample, modify its value and then transfer it to the VDAC?

Thank you

0 Likes
1 Solution

"Should I transfer from ADC to a variable doing a DMA transfer from ADC to SRAM"

No, not to a variable, but into a UDB. A PSoC42xx usually has got 4 of those. See here what a UDB is.

Bob

View solution in original post

13 Replies
KyTr_1955226
Level 6
Level 6
250 sign-ins 10 likes given 50 solutions authored

I would also be curious to know if this is something that's doable using a single DMA.  My first reaction is that you can't, because at some point between coming out of the ADC and moving to the DAC, you would need to get at the value and modify it.  The whole idea with DMA is to have no CPU intervention in the process, and modifying the value is inserting CPU intervention in the process.

I'm not super familiar with using DMA, but I think you would have to 2 DMA transactions.

First DMA transaction would take your ADC reading and drop it into a RAM location.  You would trigger an interrupt off the nrq signal of the DMA component to know when you have a new ADC value ready.

You could then do any math you need to the value.  If it's a quick simple operation (like a bit-shift) you could just do it inside the ISR tied to nrq.

Once you modify the value, you could then enable a separate DMA transaction to get it to the DAC.