Limitations in some modules?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello everyone,

I'm a pretty new owner of a PSoC Development Kit and my programming skills are, on a scale from 1(total noob) to 10(kick@ss programmer for NASA), around 3.
So please respond accordingly    

I need to know if there are any limitations in the number of ADC, DFB and OpAmp modules used in a project. I mean can I monitor, filter and amplify 6 analog sources at the same time or is there any limitation?

Thank you

PS. I hope my question doesn't sound stupid    

0 Likes
7 Replies
JamesD_81
Employee
Employee
First like received Welcome!

Sangr,

In short, yes there are limitations in the number of those modules you can use in your design--they're dependent on the specific PSoC part you're building your application for. For example, if you're using the CY8C3866AXI-040 device as your target device, then you will have available to you 1-ADC (DelSig up to 20-bits), 1-DFB, and 4-OpAmps (as well as many other components). If you're targeting a CY8C36, CY8C34 or a CY8C32 (if you have Beta 4 of Creator installed, it was just released) then you will have less analog features available.

That all said, despite these limitations you can simply place a MUX in front of the device you want to reuse and control the switching of the MUX in software. So, if you have 6 analog sources you want to run through the ADC, simply drag and drop the Analog MUX in front of the ADC in your schematic and configure the MUX such that there's 6 channels available (double-click on the MUX to open its configuration dialog). Then you can use the MUX software API calls (view the MUX datasheet for details) to switch between channels and collect your ADC samples each step of the way.

Hopefully this helps in answering your question and if not, just ask again and I'll give it another shot     .

Thanks!
Jim

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable