How to use SPI with ADXL345 accelerometer and PSoC 5 board

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable
        Hi everyone! I'm trying to get data out of a ADXL345 accelerometer and display it on the LCD of the PSoC5. I'm having difficulties trying to display the results. At this point, I'm only trying to get the x and y axis results, one for each line of the LCD. I'm currently a student at a university and have asked my professors if they have any idea how to use SPI, but none have been able to help with the PSoC related stuff. I've looked at other threads in this forum but none have really solved the problem and I've pretty much exhausted the internet searching for answers. I did find some code (AccelSPI_test.c) that I spliced and added into my code. It wasn't meant for the PSoC5 though, so I had to change some things. I think I only need an SPI Master in the top design, and not a slave. I've attached the main c file for anyone to look at with the AccelSPI_test.c file under it. If anyone can help or has any ideas how to do this it would be great. If you need more information, like TopDesign, or pin assignments, I can post this too, but I think those are ok right now.   
0 Likes
15 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Since the ADXL345 has got an I2C-interface (I am not a friend of SPI), why don't you use this? With the basic APIs of I2C-master (start, restart read etc) you can setup your connection byte-by-byte easily.

In your routine task() you initialize your device and get data, better is to separate initialization and reading off data.

You do not tell us where your program runs into troubles. Debugging the code will reveill that.