Counter UpCnt & DwnCnt mode as an Encoder

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Dave_Goshen
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Hi guys! I am new in the cypress community, I hope that you can help me with this issue. I am trying to read an encoder without using interrupts. The solution that came to my mind is to use a counter in  UpCnt & DwnCnt mode. I have tried almost everything but the function Counter_ReadCounter(); returns me always the period value. I cannot understand how to fix it.  Pin_encoder_B and Pin_encoder_A are my two signal wires that go high and down. I am using Pin_encoder_A as a clock, when it turns up I look at the Pin_encoder_B, if Pin_encoder_B and Pin_encoder_A are equal or disequal I understand if my encoder is tourning clockwise or counterclockwise and I should be able to decrement or increment my counter.  What is wrong in my code? Thank you all.

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Dave,

I saw a number of issues with your design. 

Len_CONSULTRON_1-1635174137258.png

1: Won't count up or down

Your clock to Counter_Logic is the same as Pin_encoder_A.   Both upCnt and downCnt need to have TWO clock transitions to detect the 'rising' edge needed to increment or decrement the counter.  Since the clock input is the same as one of the encoder pins you only get at most ONE clock.  This is not enough.  You need another clock source to use the counter component.

2: The Count will be WRONG even if you fix 1:

You use the inverted signal of upCnt to generate downCnt from the AND gate.  In this case, either Cnt input will be active much longer (for many clock cycles) than intended.  

Recommendation: