how to start with PSOC 4 MCU and creater?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
admin_hun_main
Level 1
Level 1
10 sign-ins 5 replies posted 5 sign-ins

So, I am a complete newbie in the Cypress MCU family or PSoC creator. I am just trying to get started with the first project. I am using CY8C4014SXI-421, I have browsed through some of the documents like

1.  Getting Started with CapSense
 2.  PSoC® 4 and PSoC 6 MCU CapSense® Design Guide
I have also browsed youtube for the PSoC creator tutorial and I followed the step to create my first project, but I am unable to get through. Youtube tutorial is from Cypress itself, Basic Capsense Implementation 

I am getting errors: undefined reference to `CapSense_CSD_Start'

It's a linking error but I am don't see any linking method in a document or video tutorial.

However there are further questions from my end, which may seem naive, but I would like to get it cleared,

1. I need to know what approach to follow for touch detection is it CSD or CSX, I have to design 3 button detection, the button diameter is 25-30mm.

2. what is the difference between CSD and CSX, as I read CSX that is a mutual cap, is better than CSD. but in my case should I use CSD or CSX, pin configuration for both will be different, also I have sensed the touch even when the finger is like 10cm away from the surface, so in that case, using CSD is the right approach or to use CSX does use CSD or CSX depends on this?

3. how to integrate Guard/Shield connection in PCB?

4. also what is an example project to follow to start with the touch button? I would like a recommendation for the Evaluation kit and sample project to help me out

5. also in PSOC creator I see 2 options, Capsense v7.0 and Capsense CSD v2.6, I don't understand the difference between 2, as I see in the video tutorial I just ahs Capsense, which one to use?