PrISM Block from ADC via DMA?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
jonconnellnyc
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins First reply posted First question asked

Greetings. I am attempting to drive a PrISM block from a potentiometer / ADC to control intensity of an LED load. I am new to PSoC internals so be gentle please. I am using the CY8KIT-043 - the CY8C4247AZI-M485.

I have successfully created the system layout using ADC + DMA + PWM and am impressed at the PSoC's simplicity. I have apparently run into a  complexity wall when attempting to implement PrISM (which is needed to fulfill other low level dimming control requirements in the project). There is a nice ADC example for PSoC 5 but is apparently not portable back to the 4 series. I think I run out of resources.

Images of the currently working PWM system and the desired PrISM configuration are attached.

Is DMA the right way to go? What is the simplest route to control PrISM density / LED intensity from my analogue source please? I  could look at other parts but I would need locate a low-ish cost dev board to build the first parts on.

I have attached my successful PWM project with a PrISM and ISR block randomly dropped on to it  - intended to eventually replace the PWM. Any advice appreciated. 8 or 16 bit is good. I hope I am missing something obvious. Many thanks in advance for   any assistance. Regards,

Jon

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
johnconnelyc,
Attached is simple project showing LED brightness control using ADC [0-1V]. Two options are given for LED control: (a) DeltaSigma Modulator, and (b) PriSM. They both produce stochastic outputs proportional to the code value, but not the same!  
Project does not use DMA - I see no benefits of using DMA at these low sampling rates (few hundred Hz). It also makes more flexible in terms of using extra ADC options, over limits, etc.