PSoC 4100M series programming issue

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

I'm an electrical engineering student at Arizona State University, working on a project with a team of fellow students. We choose to use PSoC in our design and have ordered the CY8C4126AXI-M443. We are implementing 3 separate MCUs in our design and we're having issues when it comes to programming them for the first time. After soldering them to our custom PCBs and doing continuity checks we power the chip with the cypress programmer from the CY8CKIT-043. On almost every chip we have tried, the select debug target window comes up. It shows the KitProg, below that instead of showing the PSoC chip it shows Cortex-M0 and gives an error on the right saying, "This device was recognized, but PSoC Creator does not support using it at this time". One of our chips programmed on the first time and had no issues, my MCU is finally being recognized and programming after updating the components in the project. We're down to our last board and we can't seem to get this one be recognized even after following the same steps we attempted that made the last chip work.

Has anyone had any issues with soldering and programming a bare chip on a custom PCB? We originally thought we fried the chips with ESD, but after de-soldering and re-soldering, we're still getting the same results. We've made new PCBs as well and thoroughly checked them for any errors in the traces and know the boards are good. At this point, I believe it's something we're not doing correctly to initialize the chip for the first time or it's something we are doing that we shouldn't. 

I'm not sure what other information I can give to help. If you need any information to better help me with this issue please ask and I'll provide it as quick as I can.

Thank you,

Robert Goby

0 Likes
10 Replies
rola_264706
Level 8
Level 8