CY8CKIT-042 PSoC 'ES' ?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just a quick question.

I am using one of the new CY8CKIT-042 PSoC4 Pioneer Kits. 

There are some things that I am not able to get working on it (like a simple 16x2 LCD display), even though I have tried everything that I know to try.

I am no expert using Creator (3.0), or the PSoC, or the 'kit', but I am really reaching the end of things to try.

As a last resort, I got out my magnifier and read the Part Number on the PSoC4 chip. It is...

CY8C4245AXI-483ES

My question... What does the 'ES' stand for?

If it is what I think it means, then I am using an 'Engineering Sample' part on this board. (Or trying to use one.)

Can someone shed some light on this? If it _is_ an Engineering Sample (and I have purchased two (2) Pioneer Kits - both have 'ES' parts on them), then this may explain why I am having difficulties.

Thanks.

James

0 Likes
64 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

ES is engineering sample. My kit, also is ES labeled.

Post an archive of your project for forum to take a look at, under file menu in Creator.

When you post don't use Chrome.

I assume you are using a 44780 controller based LCD ? Part number, datasheet also helpful.

And how you have it connected to kit.

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Before I upload my code, perhaps someone could verify if they have gotten a 16x2 LCD display to work on the Pioneer Kit.

I am using the provided LCD component, and have it hooked up to the only contiguous port available on the Pioneer kit - P2[0-6].

I get nothing on the display.

The only thing that works is the potentiometer that makes the display darker when adjusted.

Thanks.

Regards,

James

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked