Store AK and IDevID certificates on TPM nvram (SLB9670VQ20FW785 TPM)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
dawa
Level 1
Level 1
First like given First reply posted First question asked

Hi!

We are have an embedded system that is running vxworks 7 with the SLB9670VQ20FW785 TPM.

And we are currently investigating how to implement a software for provisioning our systems during manufacturing according to IEEE 802.1ar.

So I would like to know if it's feasible to store the Attestation Key certificate and the IDevID certificate on the TPM nvram?

I have no prior experience working with PKI/TPM/certificates and would greatly appreciate all the help I can get.

0 Likes
1 Solution
Sneha_P
250 replies posted 250 sign-ins First comment on blog

Hi @dawa ,

TPM SLB9670VQ20FW785  has a minimum of 6962 bytes of free NV memory apart from the pre-provisioned certificates that are stored in NVM.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Sneha_P

Hi @dawa ,

The IDevID Certificate is issued by the Platform Manufacturer and should be signed by the Platform Manufacturer. Please refer to Table 2 of this spec for Reserved Handles in NV Memory associated with IDevID Certificate.

For storing an AK certificate, you can define an NVRAM space (tpm2_nvdefine) with the size of the certificate you wish to store and then write the certificate (tpm2_nvwrite) into the defined NV area. 'tpm2_evictcontrol' will make the key handle persistent.  

Thanks,

Sneha

0 Likes
dawa
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Sneha

Do you know if there is room on the SLB9670VQ20 nvram for storing two (AK and IDevID) certificates?

I have read trough the specifications of the TPM and it says a minimum of 6K free space, I have to admit that I have no idea when it comes to the size of the certificates.

Best regards

Daniel 

0 Likes
Sneha_P

Hi @dawa ,

Yes, you can store both AK and IDevID certificates belonging to the keys stored on the chip on NVM.

dawa
Level 1