Announcements

Webinar: Integrated solutions for smaller, simpler low-voltage motor control design.
Join the webinar to experience!

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
unispun
Level 1
Level 1
First solution authored 5 sign-ins First reply posted

Hi all,

I am new to LIN and trying to learn the basics to help get started with code development.  Currently I am using a TLE987x Evaluation board with the sample code BLDC FOC w/LIN and am attempting to command the motor exclusively through LIN. 

I am using a PLIN-View Pro to send messages to the board but cannot find any documentation about the basics of what messages the board expects/wants to see.

A few questions:

1.  What should I be using as a bit-length?

2.  In terms of bit length, which bits command which functions?  ie, which bit(s) send a "Start Motor/Enable" command and which bits send a "speed" command. 

3.  Is there any documentation that I can use to help answer these questions/ get me started with working with LIN on this particular example?

The above questions are drawing from my experience working with CAN, which leads me to final question:

4.  Am I on the right track thinking that - for whatever bit length I should be using - that each bit represents a different command function?  If not, which track should I be on?

Thanks for any and all help.

0 Likes
1 Solution
Raj_C
500 replies posted 50 likes received 250 replies posted

Hi @unispun ,

The BLDC_SENSORLESS_FOC_LIN_EXAMPLE_TLE987X works with LIN_MASTER_EXAMPLE_TLE987X.

There are two devices required for the complete LIN functionality to work:

BLDC_SENSORLESS_FOC_LIN_EXAMPLE_TLE987X: Slave Device

LIN_MASTER_EXAMPLE_TLE987X: Master Device.

>> LIN_MASTER_EXAMPLE_TLE987X The Poti position is read out at ADC1-CH4, measuring Ch4 in sequencer mode. This value is written into RefSpeed and sent to the slave board over LIN.