IGBT getting started

Announcements

From sunburn to sun earn – we’ve got the power! Watch our #poweringgreen videos now.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Matteo
Level 1
Level 1
First reply posted First question asked Welcome!

Dear all,

I am new with IGBT (I have experience with mosfet). I need to develop a H-Bridge to drive (and test) custom magnetics (transformers/inductors).

IGBT are required because the large current I need to manage (up to 300Vrms).

I focused my attention on IGBT modules (EconoDUAL™ 3 / EconoPACK™ 3)  in dual and four pack configuration. Can I have your support:

- Can you suggest me the easier (and faster) way to get a result? Am I in the right direction?

- Is there any evaluation board for IGBT driving?

- What about IGBT paralleling? In the case I would implement a modular solution?

Any suggestion is well accepted.

Regards

0 Likes
1 Solution
Guru_Prasad
250 replies posted 100 solutions authored 25 likes received

Hello @Matteo 

Yes you can make the H-Bridge with the same devices and the driver design will be easy. Please share your

entire schematic for your H-bridge and drivers, we will review it and get back to you.

Please design the bus bar and Dc link capacitor as per your application.

Please consider REF-22K-GPD-INV-EASY3B application note for other components(except IGBT) design 

Please feel free to contact us for any support

Thanks

Guru

View solution in original post

0 Likes
8 Replies
Guru_Prasad

Hello @Matteo 

Thanks for posting your question in the Infineon community.

Yes, you are in the right direction for choosing the IGBT modules for your application.

Infineon provides the evaluation boards for IGBT products Please click here for the evaluation boards page.

Paralleling is also possible for IGBT products in case the load currents are higher than your device-rated

current.